Home/AI SOP generators/Scribe

Scribe pricing

Scribe records workflows as you work and turns them into step-by-step guides and SOPs that teams and AI tools can use.

AI SOP generatorsFree planSelf-serve + sales
Visit ScribePrices checked Oct 29, 2026

How much does Scribe cost?

Paid plans start at $13/mo billed yearly or $17/mo billed monthly
Free plan
Yes
Enterprise
Contact sales
Read from scribehow.com/pricing on Oct 29, 2026. Price changed? Tell usSee the line each price came from

In your favor

  • Free plan. Basic plan is free: works with any web app, quick customization, shareable with link and embed. Desktop capture is Pro and Enterprise only.

Watch out for

  • Their pages disagree: customer count. "7 million people can't imagine work without Scribe" vs "Loved by 6 million+ users and hundreds of thousands of organizations"

How you buy and get started

Self-serve + salesButtons on their site: Sign up, Get started, Schedule demo, Talk to Sales
Sign up
Self-serve signup for Basic and Pro plans
"Get started"
Setup
Not stated
When sales steps in
Enterprise plan requires a demo
"Schedule demo"
Support
Customer support included in plan comparison; Help Center available
"Customer support"

What Scribe does

Scribe captures how work gets done in web and desktop apps via a browser extension and desktop app, and auto-generates step-by-step process documentation. It also offers a page generator that builds an SOP from a prompt, workflow analytics, and MCP/API sharing of the captured workflows with AI tools.

Good for
Teams of any size, from solo consultants to Fortune 500 enterprises, documenting processes, onboarding and training staff, rolling out software, and feeding workflow context to AI agents.
Channels
Chrome extension, Edge extension, Desktop app (Windows), Desktop app (Mac), Web app
Main product
Scribe (Capture and Optimize)
Also includes
AI-powered automatic capture, Autocapture, Chrome and Edge extensions, Desktop app (Windows and Mac), Custom branding, Manual, assisted and automatic redaction
Connects to
Confluence, Microsoft Copilot, Slack, Custom AI assistants, MCP, Enterprise search API
Public API
Yes
MCP server
Yes
  • Records screen workflowsAutomatically capture how work gets done.
  • Turns video into SOPsNot stated
  • Generates SOP from promptBuilds a full SOP from a prompt you provide. Edit or regenerate any part before publishing.
  • Imports docs and PDFsImport existing process documents
  • Auto-redacts sensitive dataCapture workflows confidently, knowing that sensitive data is automatically redacted.
  • Custom branding and templatesCustomize with company branding
  • Training and quizzesNot stated
  • Integrates with help desk, wikiConfluence integration

The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI SOP generators. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.

Security and your data

QuestionTheir answerWhere it says so
Trains AI on your data?no"We do not allow our AI service providers to use your data to train their models."security
HIPAA (signs a BAA)Not stated
SOC 2SOC 2 Type II"Scribe meets SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, CCPA, GDPR, FERPA, and other enterprise compliance standards."home
GDPRyes"Scribe meets SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, CCPA, GDPR, FERPA, and other enterprise compliance standards."home
CCPAyes"Scribe meets SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, CCPA, GDPR, FERPA, and other enterprise compliance standards."home
PCINot stated
ISO 27001Not stated
Single sign-onEnterprise"SSO for authentication"pricing
Trust centerhttps://trust.scribehow.com/"Trust Center"security

Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.

Every plan

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyIncludedOver the allowanceWhere it says so
Pro Teamper seat per month $17 $13per month 5 seats – "$17" "$13"
Pro Personalper seat per month $35 $25per month 1 seats – "$35" "$25"
Basic – – – – "Free"
Enterprise Quote – – – "Custom"
Their pages disagree: customer count"7 million people can't imagine work without Scribe" vs "Loved by 6 million+ users and hundreds of thousands of organizations"

Free plan: Basic plan is free: works with any web app, quick customization, shareable with link and embed. Desktop capture is Pro and Enterprise only.

Fine print

Billing increment
per seat per month
"per seat per month"
Billed beyond usage
Not stated
Contract
Not stated
Refunds
Not stated
Auto renew
Not stated
Price change notice
Not stated

"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.

About the company

Legal name
Colony Labs, Inc. (dba Scribe)
Online since
Dec 7, 2020
Domain registration date
Ships updates
2 in the last 12 months
Last on Oct 28, 2026, from their changelog
Funding
$130M raised; $1.3B valuation
"$130M"
Customers
"Trusted by 94% of the Fortune 500"
their claim

Scribe alternatives

Reviews elsewhere

We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.

Questions

Is Scribe free?

Yes. Basic plan is free: works with any web app, quick customization, shareable with link and embed. Desktop capture is Pro and Enterprise only. Paid plans start at $17/month.

How much does Scribe cost?

Paid plans start at $13 per month billed yearly, or $17 billed monthly.

Does Scribe train AI on your data?

No, according to Scribe: "We do not allow our AI service providers to use your data to train their models."