How much does Whale cost?
- Free plan
- Yes
- Enterprise
- Contact sales
In your favor
- Free plan. Free forever plan with 1 creator, up to 10 members, 20 Playbook items, screen recorder, video to SOP, checklists, mobile access and Coral; 20 AI credits one time. Upgrade to Scale for unlimited documentation and 3 creators.
- Notice before price changes. At least 30 days' prior written notice, no more than once per 12 months
Watch out for
- Going over the Scale allowance costs $39 per extra creator per month. Included: 3 creators.
How you buy and get started
- Sign up
- Free plan self-serve signup "[Start for Free](https://app.usewhale.io/signup?ref=pricing_free_cta)"
- Setup
- Training and implementation included on paid plans; migration assistance optional on Scale and Advance, included on Enterprise "Training and implementationWeekly Q&A sessions plus expert help structuring your workspace, content and training."
- When sales steps in
- Paid plans (Scale, Advance, Enterprise) use Book a Demo "[Book a Demo](/book-a-free-demo/?ref=pricing_scale_cta)"
- Support
- Dedicated Teams or Slack channel on Enterprise "Dedicated Teams or Slack channelYour own channel with the Whale team."
- Support
- Weekly Q&A sessions and expert help on paid plans "Weekly Q&A sessions plus expert help structuring your workspace, content and training."
What Whale does
Whale lets teams record their screen, convert video to SOPs, import PDF and Word files, and write SOPs with AI, then assign training flows and quizzes. It also includes Coral, an AI assistant that answers questions from the workspace content.
- Good for
- Teams that want to document processes, onboard and train staff, and keep SOPs current, from small teams to enterprises, including frontline and compliance-driven work.
- Channels
- Web app, Mobile app, Chrome extension (CoPilot), Slack, Teams
- Main product
- Whale SOP software with Coral AI assistant
- Also includes
- Screen Recorder, Video to SOP Converter, AI SOP writer, PDF and Word importer, Checklists, 100+ SOP and process templates
- Connects to
- Slack, Zapier, Google Drive, OneDrive, Microsoft Teams, Google SSO, Microsoft SSO, Azure Active Directory (SCIM), HRIS integrations, MCP
- Public API
- Yes
- MCP server
- Yes
- Records screen workflows
Screen Recorder
- Turns video into SOPs
Video-to-SOP converter
- Generates SOP from prompt
AI SOP writer
- Imports docs and PDFs
PDF and Word importer
- Auto-redacts sensitive data
Automatic redactionDetect and blur sensitive data in recordings and screenshots.
- Custom branding and templates
Workspace and Coral brandingMatch your workspace and Coral, Whale’s AI assistant, to your brand.
- Training and quizzes
AI quiz generation
- Integrates with help desk, wiki
Slack and ZapierAssignment and review alerts in Slack, and 1,000+ apps through Zapier.
The same 8 checks appear on every tool in AI SOP generators. Each tick quotes the vendor's own site.
Security and your data
| Question | Their answer | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|
| Trains AI on your data? | no | "Whale does not use your Content to train, fine-tune, or improve any machine learning models or algorithms"terms |
| HIPAA (signs a BAA) | available on Enterprise | "A BAA is signed on request on the Enterprise plan."home |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 certified | "SOC 2 certified"home |
| GDPR | GDPR aligned | "GDPR aligned"home |
| CCPA | Not stated | |
| PCI | Not stated | |
| ISO 27001 | Not stated | |
| Single sign-on | Google and Microsoft SSO on all plans; enforced SSO from Advance plan | "Granular permissions and enforced SSO"home |
| Trust center | Whale Trust Center | "EU and UK data rights documented in the Whale Trust Center."home |
Security answers are the vendor's own claims, quoted. We don't audit them.
Every plan
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Included | Over the allowance | Where it says so |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scale/mo billed monthly | $0 | $249per month | 3 creators50 AI credits per creator per month | $39/extra creator per month | "Each extra creator: $29/mo billed yearly, $39/mo billed monthly." "$249/mobilled yearly" |
| Advance/mo billed monthly | $0 | $499per month | 5 creators100 AI credits per creator per month | $49/extra creator per month | "Each extra creator: $39/mo billed yearly, $49/mo billed monthly." "$499/mobilled yearly" |
| Freeforever | – | – | 1 creatorsup to 10 members; 20 AI credits one time; 20 Playbook items | – | "$0forever" |
| Enterprise | Quote | – | Unlimitedunlimited members; 250 AI credits per creator per month | – | "Custombilled yearly" |
Free plan: Free forever plan with 1 creator, up to 10 members, 20 Playbook items, screen recorder, video to SOP, checklists, mobile access and Coral; 20 AI credits one time. Upgrade to Scale for unlimited documentation and 3 creators.
Fine print
- Billing increment
- Not stated
- Billed beyond usage
- If you run out of AI credits you can request more or upgrade "If you run out before the month ends, you can request more or upgrade your plan"
- Contract
- Subscription runs for the period in the Order and renews automatically for the same length "Your subscription starts on the date your Order begins (“Start Date”) and runs for the period specified in your Order (“Initial Term”)."
- Refunds
- Not stated
- Auto renew
- Auto-renews unless cancelled at least 30 days before the end of the current term "After the Initial Term, your subscription will automatically renew for successive periods of the same length (“Renewal Terms”), unless you cancel at least 30 days before the end of"
- Price change notice
- At least 30 days' prior written notice, no more than once per 12 months "We will provide you with at least thirty (30) days’ prior written notice of any price adjustment."
"Not stated" means we read their pricing page and terms and they don't say.
About the company
- Legal name
- Whale BV
- Online since
- Aug 20, 2019 Domain registration date
- Founder
- Gary Vanbutsele and Bram Billiet
- Customers
- "+1200 companies in 15+ countries" their claim
- Backing
- "Backed by Volta Ventures and Peak" their words
Whale alternatives
SweetProcess$4.17 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026
Guidde$19 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Scribe$13 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Tango$15 /moFree plan · checked Oct 29, 2026
Waybook$99 /mochecked Oct 29, 2026Reviews elsewhere
We link to reviews instead of copying ratings: those sites don't allow reuse, and we don't test products ourselves.
Questions
Is Whale free?
Yes. Free forever plan with 1 creator, up to 10 members, 20 Playbook items, screen recorder, video to SOP, checklists, mobile access and Coral; 20 AI credits one time. Upgrade to Scale for unlimited documentation and 3 creators.
How much does Whale cost?
Paid plans start at $249 per month billed yearly.
Does Whale train AI on your data?
No, according to Whale: "Whale does not use your Content to train, fine-tune, or improve any machine learning models or algorithms"
Is Whale HIPAA compliant?
Whale says a HIPAA BAA is available on Enterprise.
