Home/AI translation tools/Free plans

Free AI translation tools

10 of 28 AI translation tools have a free plan you can keep. The lowest first paid price among them is ElevenLabs at $6/mo. 2 more offer only a time-limited or one-off allowance, listed separately.

28 AI translation tools read10 free plansChecked Nov 4, 2026

Free plans (10)

Their limits are stated in different terms, so they aren't ranked against each other. Ordered by first paid price.

ToolStated limitsWhat makes you upgradeFirst paid priceKind
ElevenLabsRead Oct 29, 2026 Free plan with 10k credits per month; credits reset each cycle and do not roll over. Limited to non-commercial use."10k credits per month"Source More than 10,000 credits: Starter includes 30,000 $6/moStarter Free plan
TaiaRead Oct 29, 2026 5,000 credits per month (5,000 words with Standard AI), free forever, 1 user, 15 file formats, 50 languages, no credit card required"5,000 credits/month (5,000 words with Standard AI), forever free. No credit card required."Source More than 5,000 credits: Basic includes 20,000 $10/moBasic Free plan
DeepLRead Oct 29, 2026 Free version: 50,000 characters per user/month, 1 file translation per month (up to 5 MB), 1 glossary with 5 entries per language pair, 1 saved translation."Free version"Source Not found $10.49/moIndividual Free plan
Happy ScribeRead Oct 29, 2026 Free plan with unlimited meeting recordings (45 minutes each), a one-time 10-minute trial of AI transcription, subtitling and translation, and 3 AI Chat files per month. No credit card needed."Yes. You can start on the Free plan, no credit card needed."Source Free cap: 45 minutes per recording $17/moBasic Free plan
WeglotRead Nov 4, 2026 Free plan with 2,000 total words, 1 translated language, 5 team members. After the 14-day trial, projects under 2,000 words keep using the free plan; above that translation stops until upgrade."If you have less than 2000 words in your project, you can keep using Weglot for free (with one translated language and limited support)."Source Above that translation stops until upgrade $17/moStarter Free plan
SynthesiaRead Oct 29, 2026 Basic plan is free: 500 credits a month, about 10 minutes of video or dubbing, 3 survey responses, Synthesia watermark. Allowance resets each month; video creation pauses when used up."Yes, our Basic plan is free, with no credit card required."Source Basic plan is free: 500 credits a month, about 10 minutes of video or dubbing, 3 survey responses, Synthesia watermark $19/moStarter Free plan
AI StudiosRead Oct 29, 2026 Free plan: up to 3 AI videos of 1 minute, 720p, 3 AI Dubbing uses, 16 one-time generative credits"Create up to 3 AI videos"Source Free cap: Up to 3 AI videos, 1 minute each, 720p $24/moPersonal Free plan
HeyGenRead Oct 29, 2026 Free plan: 3 videos a month, watermarked, up to 1 minute each, Avatar IV and Video Agent access, one Custom Video Avatar, 30+ languages. No credit card required."3 videos a month, watermarked"Source Free plan: 3 videos a month, watermarked, up to 1 minute each, Avatar IV and Video Agent access, one Custom Video... $29/moCreator Free plan
CrowdinRead Oct 29, 2026 Free subscription plan on Crowdin (indie developers and crowdsourcing); limits and what happens after are not stated. Free licenses for open source projects on request."Free subscription plan available"Source Not found $450/mo yearlyCrowdin Enterprise Free plan
Google Cloud TranslationRead Oct 29, 2026 First 500,000 characters per month across Basic and Advanced are free (applied as a $10 credit that does not roll over; not applicable to LLMs). Usage beyond that is billed at $20 per million characters for NMT."The first 500,000 characters sent to the API to process (Basic and Advanced combined) per month are free (not applicable to LLMs)."Source Usage beyond that is billed at $20 per million characters for NMT $20/1,000,000 characters Free plan

Time-limited or one-off (2)

Listed as free on the vendor's page, but the allowance runs out or doesn't renew. Not counted as free plans above.

ToolStated limitsWhat makes you upgradeFirst paid priceKind
Amazon TranslateRead Oct 29, 2026 Free tier: 2M characters per month for 12 months for standard text and batch document translation (500,000 characters per month for 2 months for Active Custom Translation)."The Amazon Translate Free Tier is offered for some translation services and available to you for 12 months, starting from the date of your first..."Source Not found $15/million characters Time-limited
SmartlingRead Oct 29, 2026 Core plan is 'Free to Start' (basic workflow, CAT tool, translation memory for 180 days); what happens after is not stated"Free to Start"Source Not found $0.0075/word Time-limited

Free trial only (7)

  • Lokalise: 14-day free trial on all plans, no credit card required; access to all Enterprise features, then upgrade to a paid plan
  • Maestra: Free trial for almost every tool; length not stated
  • Phrase: 14-day free trial of the platform on all plans
  • Rask AI: Free trial with 3 minutes included, no credit card required
  • Smartcat: 15-day free trial, including API access
  • SYSTRAN Translate: 14-day free trial
  • Wordly: A Free Trial offer is mentioned in the terms; length not stated

Questions

Which AI translation tools are free?

10 have a free plan you can keep, including AI Studios, Crowdin, DeepL, ElevenLabs, Google Cloud Translation, Happy Scribe.

What do you pay after a free plan?

The lowest first paid price among tools with a free plan is $6/mo (ElevenLabs). Read from each vendor's own page.

How this page is made

Every limit is the vendor's own, read from its pages and quoted. A tool counts as a free plan when the text describes something you can keep using; a fixed number of days or a single batch of credits is listed separately. We don't test the plans. How prices are read.